簡介

位於土瓜灣中心地帶的麻雀客棧即將開幕,僅一箭之遙的城市忙亂繁華景點,以及其著名的山區和沿海魅力,成為香港最時尚的旅舍。

麻雀客棧正好媲美香港細小居所的獨特個性:傳統的過去和前瞻性思維的意識形態,其根源東西方的影響。在香港的心臟地帶裡,每名旅客就好像一個探險家,在這裡體驗到獨有的本土文化。我們希望住在麻雀客棧可以豐富您的旅程,並為您提供一個舒適的家。

名稱來源

麻雀客棧由背包客成立,建立一個舒適的精品旅舍是多年來追求的夢想,讓旅客感受這個擁有濃厚本土文化的地區,以及提供結識其他旅客的空間交換彼此的故事。

麻雀的名字來自傳統的麻雀遊戲(國語:麻將),追溯到清朝末年時,當地人聚集超過144隻棋子,以下棋消磨時間。今天,不論在家裡、公園裡、甚至於城市裡的麻雀館,麻雀已經無處不在,更是全城熱愛之娛樂。有傳説此遊戲之棋子細如麻雀鳥,因而得名。

麻雀鳥於香港到處都能看到,有的在吱吱高歌、有的在展翅飛翔。有說麻雀雖小五臟俱全,剛好描述香港人精神以及城市住宅的特徵。

同樣,麻雀代表我們宿舍的壯志凌雲:五臟俱全的小住所、舒適的大客廳、以至充滿本土風味的鄰里、讓旅客體驗到真正香港文化之餘亦可結識新朋友、交換旅途上的精彩、更不能小得幾圈的麻雀耍樂!

About

The Mahjong is one of Hong Kong's hippest hostels, centrally located in a soulful Chinese neighbourhood and just a stone’s throw to the city’s hustling bustling attractions, as well as its renowned mountain & coastal charms.

The Mahjong is an abode that encapsulates Hong Kong’s unique character: its traditional past and forward-thinking ideologies, its Oriental roots and Western influences. Every traveler is an explorer at heart, out there to experience culture – we hope a stay at The Mahjong will enrich your journey and offer you a comfortable home away from home.

Behind The Name

Founded by backpackers and soultrippers, The Mahjong is the result of years of pursuing a dream to establish a comfortable boutique hostel that offers cultural immersion in addition to a social exchange for travelers to meet and swap stories.

The Mahjong takes its name from a traditional game that dates back to late Qing dynasty when locals gathered together over a table of 144 game pieces to play and while away the days. Today, the game has evolved into a national pastime and is played everywhere – at home, in the park, even dedicated mahjong parlours around the city. There are various legends on how the game got its name – one being the Mahjong sparrow it was named after, for its petite yet agile body that resembled the game pieces.

All over Hong Kong, it isn’t hard to spot these little Mahjong sparrows cheerfully chirping away or spreading wings and soaring high. A local saying –

麻雀雖小五臟俱全

“Mahjong is small but has everything it needs”

– encapsulates the very heart and spirit of Hong Kong, and is symbolic to many of the city’s dwellings.

Likewise, the Mahjong represents our hostel’s soaring aspirations – a compact abode that provides travelers with everything for comfort, a soulful neighbourhood that offers genuine cultural immersion, and a social space for memories & stories to be made… and of course several games of mahjong to be played!